Fair Dealing Week Events and Activities

 

Fair Dealing Week 2022 takes place February 21–25.

If you are organizing an event for Fair Dealing Week, please submit it here and we will include it in the following list.

 


Listed by Date (earliest to most recent):

Wednesday, February 23

Time:  1300-1400 Eastern (1000-1100 Pacific)
Speaker: Dr. Carys J. Craig, Associate Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Presentation: Best Practices for OER in Canada: A Fresh Look at Fair Dealing for Educational Use
Hosts: Lower Mainland Consortium (CapU, Douglas, JIBC, SFU, and UBC) and the Alberta Consortium (U of A, U of C, MRU and NAIT)

Time: 1500-1600 Eastern (1200-1300 Pacific)
Speaker: Dr. Meera Nair, Copyright Specialist, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
Presentation: Fair Dealing’s future – artificial intelligence or willful ignorance?
Hosts: Lower Mainland Consortium (CapU, Douglas, JIBC, SFU, and UBC) and the Alberta Consortium (U of A, U of C, MRU and NAIT)

 

Tuesday, February 22

Time: 2:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m. Newfoundland | 2-3 p.m. Atlantic | 1-2 p.m. Eastern | 12-1 p.m. Central | 11 a.m.-12 p.m. Mountain | 10-11 a.m. Pacific
Speaker: Lucie Guibault, Professor of Intellectual Property Law and Associate Director of the Law and Technology Institute, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University
Presentation: Fair Dealing in Education: The Students’ Perspective
Host: Council of Atlantic University Libraries
Registration required: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/163yngv0JvsA-nPnAEkiShgruFmMZTAuLQIrFkiRlW7A/viewform?edit_requested=true

Resources:

Looking for visual tools to support your social media campaign? Consider using the Copyright Consortium of the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC) images here https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1VGp3r3IPDAEPBw9ZqDKrclwHItjN13YY?usp=sharing 

To support Canadian teachers and students in the educational use of fair dealing, the Consortium has created  FairDealingDecisionTool.ca.

——-

For information on international Fair Use/ Fair Dealing Week events, please visit http://fairuseweek.org/.

See past years’ events: https://fair-dealing.ca/past-years-events-listings/